Governing Body

In common with most non academy status schools, Cadmore End School is managed by a Governing Body.
A governing body is responsible for the school's strategic planning. The role of the governing body is 'to conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement'. The governing body consists of representatives of the school's parents, staff, LEA, Diocese and other interested community members.

The Governors are responsible for setting the key strategic objectives of a school and as a Voluntary Aided school, Cadmore End School governors are the legal employer of all the school staff. They are neither professionals nor experts in education. They are meant to be a body of local people who represent the public interest in the school’s affairs. They have an essential role in ensuring a direct line of accountability between schools, the church and their local communities.

Members of the Governing Body act and are responsible jointly. Governors are not able to take decisions or exercise powers of governance individually, except for the Chair who has the power to act under delegated authority on behalf of the Governing Body.

Governors are drawn, in roughly equal shares, from four broad groups of stakeholders in education – parents, school staff, local authority and local community. Some are elected, some appointed by official bodies, some chosen by the governing bodies themselves and some are ex officio. All except the latter group have volunteered for the job. All are unpaid.

Our Constitution states that our Governing Body will be made up as follows:
  • 2 parent governors (elected by and representing the views of the parents)
  • 7 Foundation governors (appointed by Oxford Diocese and Cadmore End Parochial Church Council) including the Vicar of the parish
  • 2 staff governors of whom one is the Headteacher (1 elected by the staff)
  • 1 appointed by the local education authority (Bucks County Council)
If you are interested in becoming a governor at our school please contact the school office or the governors at the e-mail address below.
Contact the Governing Body


Governing Board Roles

Jacqueline Day
Vice chair
Julie Wright
Jo Pearce
Data Protection
Julie Wright
Julie Wright
Tanya Sims
Tanya Sims
Gen Owen
Malcolm John
Debbie Groom
Health and Safety
Emma Leigh
Paul Brown
Emma Leigh
Malcolm John
Performance Management
Paul Brown
Tanya Sims
Jacqueline Day
Tanya Sims
Pupil Premium
Paul Brown
Gen Owen
Emma Leigh
Jacqueline Day
Science Governor
Gen Owen
Tanya Sims
Sports Premium
Paul Brown
Vice Chair 2
Malcolm John






Cadmore End CofE School









If Spaces are shown in the table below, this indicates places within the constitution which can optionally be filled.  Where Vacancies are shown this indicates places within the constitution which should be filled.









First Appointed

Term Start

Term End


Parent governors





Vacancy (1)





Vacancy (2)










Local Authority Governors





Mr Malcolm John

25 Sep 2017

25 Jan 2019

24 Jan 2023







Staff governors





Vacancy (1)















Mrs Debbie Groom

01 Sep 2016









Foundation Diocesan Board of Education Appointed





Mrs Gen Owen

20 Mar 2017

27 Mar 2017

26 Mar 2021


Ms Tanya Sims


15 Oct 2018

14 Oct 2022







Foundation Parochial Church Council Appointed





Mr Paul Brown

21 Mar 2017

01 Apr 2017

31 Mar 2021


Mrs Jacqueline Day

16 May 2018

16 Jul 2018

15 Jul 2022


Mrs Gemma Gibbins

30 Mar 2020

30 Mar 2020

29 Mar 2024


Mrs Julie Wright

14 Jul 2013

16 Oct 2017

15 Oct 2021







Foundation Ex-Officio





Revd Mark Ackford

02 Jan 2019